Resource Blog #2

For my presentation, I used a book titled How Wikipedia Works: And How You Can Be a Part of It, written by Phoebe Ayers, Charles Matthews, and Ben Yates. This book was used for it highly specific advice on how to navigate Wikipedia. It covers a range of issues from how to write an article, what makes a good article, resolving disputes, how to ban or block a fellow Wikipedian, etc. I used the book to capture a nuanced understanding of what assigning students to write for Wikipedia would look like. There is even a chapter on Wikipedia for teachers as well as many chapters on Wikipedia’s sister projects.

2 comments on “Resource Blog #2

  1. I really like your presentation in class. I am glad to know the name of the book you used in your presentation. I will have to read it this summer if I get the time. I will surely use the book to navigate Wikipedia. I will have to read especialy the parts from “how to write an article,” to “what makes a good article,” to “use it as a source for not only research and writing but for teaching. This was a nice small piece and you have motivated me to read it.

    Joe Ramos

  2. I really liked your presentation in class. I am glad to know the name of the book you used in your presentation. I will have to read it this summer if I get the time. I will surely use this book as a source or guide to navigate Wikipedia. I will have to read especialy the part from “how to write an article,” to “what makes a good article. ” I believe this book can be a great source not only for research and writing but for teaching. This was a nice small post and you have motivated me to read it.

    Joe Ramos

Leave a Reply

