Resources for Digital Storytelling

In my previous post I advocated for digital storytelling as a way to approach teaching a unit on digital literacy in a first year basic composition course. I want to follow up with a list of resources for those who want to learn more about the history, methods, and uses of digital storytelling in the learning environment.

A good place to start is with the Center for Digital Storytelling. CDS was at the center of the development and growth of digital storytelling as a medium, and has promoted media access and democratized self-expression as a civil right. It has fostered adoption of the medium among many organizations in the Bay Area, the U.S. and has presented workshops around the world.

The following are some links to galleries of digital stories:

CDS Stories

Creative Narrations: Multimedia for Community Development

Digital Stories Gallery at UMBC

Digital Stories in the Classroom: Profiles from UMBC’s Community of Practice

Digital Storytelling Asia

NWP – Literacy Through Technology: The Power of Digital Storytelling

Digital Storytelling Finds Its Place in the Classroom

Tips for Digital Storytelling

One comment on “Resources for Digital Storytelling

  1. I like your article on Digital Story Telling and on being a Digital Storyteller. I belive I will sign up for a class at the Center For Digital Storytelling in Berkely. It looks like a good skill to learn, And I belive this can be used in a high schoiol setting or in a first year composition at a university or community college class.

    I would like to learn more about digital story narratives. I believe I can use this when I introduce the subject of the reading and writing autobiographies to my first year composition students and on having them write their writing their own autobiograhical narrative first as an essay and then in a digital story telling form. Outstanding article.

    Joe Ramos

Leave a Reply

