Writing and Citizenship: Using Blogs to teach First-Year Composition

After reading why Youth (Love) Social Network Sites, by danah boyd, I went back to read the article Writing and Citizenship: Using Blogs to Teach First-Year Composition,by Charles Tryon. I got to the part where Tyson writes, “Other students sometimes subvert the goals of my blogging assignment by writing their entries at the end of the semester rather than gradually.” And I thought I fell into that category, so I am making a conscious effort to catch up and maybe even go back and comment on some other articles we didn’t cover in class especially the first few weeks of class.

This semester has been very interesting for me because unlike many of you, I just began to blog. I started to blog this summer then I forgot my site name , my pass word and other things. The closest I had come to blogging was last semester in Mark Roberge’s English 704 class.

This semester has been interesting because I know have three classes which use or involve blogging. The first class has been Mark’s English 700 which we use iLearn as a blog to comment on out reports, isearch paper, and other articles. Then I have this class English 708 , and my other class English 790 with professor Hanley which also involves the use of blogs.

So, I have found myself overwhelmed with not only reading but trying to remember my new blog site names to sign in and my new pass words which are all different. It has been a hell of a semester as some of my former  middle school; and high school students would say. But I have been carried and dragged into the new media and the 21st century.

Which brings me to comment on Tryon’s article on Using Blogs to teach First-Year Composition. I figured I better start writing and commenting on the Blogs in our class if I am to teach using Blogs to teach First-Year Composition. I like this article Tryon writes about one of his major goals is to get his students, “to take charge of their writing.”

What I like about this article is it discussed “audience” much like the previous article I mentioned. This idea of audience awareness now made these young writers realize that just about anybody in hyper space was going to read what they said, which was a good thing but, it could also be a bad thing.

Though he mentions in his article that at first they (the students) were a little uncomfortable they now realized they had to be a little more serious with their writings because other people were going to read their comments.  He writes, “I have found that with the ongoing expansion of free blogging tools such as Blogger that students continue to receive occasional comments from readers who happen to come across their blogs…”

One comment on “Writing and Citizenship: Using Blogs to teach First-Year Composition

  1. I also find audience consideration difficult when blogging. On the class blog, I feel as though I can be more at ease, if I want to, because I know all of you guys, but on my own research blog that I just began, I feel as though I should be more serious and professional, which is difficult because it feels like a bit of an erasure of self at times. Not knowing who will read my posts, makes me want to sound professional and a bit sterile. Hopefully this will fade, if I continue to blog, but I’m not so sure.

Leave a Reply

