Using Autobiographies and Literacy Narratives of Minority Writers to teach Basic or Remedial Writers using New Media

Reading has always been a strong passion of mine since I was a young child.  Even as a young Marine I had a book with me. Writing however, was another matter. It was my own personal struggles with writing that have led to my interest in the area of autobiographical writings and Integrated Reading and Writing.

Malcolm X, once said,  ”I have often reflected upon the new vistas that reading opened to me. I knew right there in prison reading had changed forever the course of my life. As I see it today the ability  to read awoke inside me some long dormant craving to be mentally alive, ” (Haley, 1965, 179).

I previously worked as a middle school, high school, and adult school teacher. I currently work with young people in juvenile hall and with inmates in jail and in prison as a volunteer in the criminal justice system. I have seen first hand how the lack of literacy skills negatively affects young people and adults.

The purpose of this study is to examine how autobiographical writings combined with Integrated Reading and Writing programs can improve reading and writing skills of adult learners and remedial college students with the help of New Media.

Did you ever notice when ever family,  and friends get together at family gatherings and when someone pulls out some pictures, the question is always, “Where am I, in these pictures?”

You see we always want to see where is our involvement, where is our place in the family, in society, etc. That is why as an aspiring teacher of first year composition students, including non-traditional students, special needs students, and students of working class families who are the first in their family to go to college…they all have special needs and goals that can only be addressed when they know who they are?

Which can be called identity! We all want to know, where are we in this picture?” And where are we going?To introduce students to reading and writing we are going to do it by introducing autobiographies and literacy narratives of minority writers. Follow me on a journey of life called the autobiography Using Autobiographies to teach Basic Writers. 3.21.2011

Leave a Reply

