All about Resources

While searching for images to create what’s below, I came across a fun mock-up for Blogs that I wanted to share. It has little to do with my posting except to represent the mass production of blogs underway as mentioned by Richardson, (p.19).

As to my posting, since I read the flexknowlogy definition of creepy treehouse, I’ve had a picture in my mind of the label below. So, I went online and with the help of a label making site, some clip art in powerpoint and then my paint program, I managed to create this:

Warning: Creepy Treehouse

For the 30 + minutes it took me to put everything together in the label, work out the kinks of production, I kept thinking there had to be a faster way if only I knew more programs that were available – more free programs. If only I knew the web better, my way around, what’s offered, how to find it – search for it and then know whether I should download it or not. This is web-literacy and it encompasses my personal system requirements – to know what my PC capabilities are, what sites and softwares are safe for download and browsing- not just virus free but they won’t bog-up my system, in addition, determining what words and phrases to use for searching and how to judge content for authority and usefulness. And this is only the Read portion of the read/write web. If I’m still a novice at this half… Let’s just say I didn’t even know that contributors to wikipedia have behind the scenes discussions about what to include and how to organize content (which I find fascinating!). Or that Star Trek has the most impressive wiki-sites out there.

What I’m saying is: I have a lot of catching up to do and I’m not looking forward to the time commitment necessary to come up to speed. The RSS feed alone suggests thousands of scanned pages! And, for all the wonder and thrill of having students compose in online, authentically real environments, I’m resistant to spending Composition class time on web-literacy in order to facilitate text-literacy within online venues.

So, I feel a little like a Jekyll and Hyde character – “Yes, teaching with online resources is awesome!” “No, teaching with online resources is wasteful.” All I can say is that I’m looking forward to some resolution, some formula for compromise that will allow me to incorporate my “web-policy” into a teaching philosophy by the end of the semester… Wish me luck!

2 comments on “All about Resources

  1. The thing to keep in mind with all the technology out there is that these are various tools which might be employed or reinvented in the classroom to help teach text literacy. I don’t think the goal for you needs to be total overnight literacy, nor should you try to cover all of these topics in a freshman writing class, but that one or two might be used effectively to your purpose of teaching writing.

  2. Just to let you know, the RSS feed is way easier than the book made it seem. Google reader is the way to go! Just go to google.com/reader, and enter the URL for your favorite blogs and websites. As you use it, you’ll gradually get accustomed to the more complex features.

    That’s what I liked about Richardson. He kept stressing to take things slow, and he never pushed a certain timeline. I agree with you; I think incorporating blogs, wikis, RSS feeds, and podcasts in one course would take up so much class time. That’s why I believe it’s all about intention. Use the tool that best suits what you want to accomplish. It would be neat to write up our own syllabi that includes new media so we could think about how we would implement and time new media in the classroom.

Leave a Reply

